Kirkwood Ski Resort, Lake Tahoe, California

I recently joined onto a project which I am very excited about. I’m working on photographing the natural and stunning beauty of a major ski resort in Lake Tahoe called Kirkwood Mountain. The focus of my assignment is to incorporate the strong landscape elements that the area lends itself too as well as the unique “box canyon” aspect of Kirkwood which separates it from other Tahoe resorts. Hoping to elevate the pedigree of the resort, I wanted to play off of the common perception people have of mountain ski resorts that might be found in the Rocky Mountains – Telluride, Aspen, etc. – but that people might not expect in California’s Sierra Mountains. An hour before sunrise I found just the place – a cliff high above the canyon with my camera pointing west to avoid a bright horizon but still get some morning glow. I used a “tubing effect” process I developed especially for night photography to center focus on the town but still give a “diamond box” effect with the stars.  This exposure was 67 seconds. I hope the clients will be as happy as I am.Kirkwood Mountain Ski Resort

Leave a Reply

