Ian Shive to speak at the United States Capitol

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse and Max Baucus are hosting an evening of stunning images of our national parks by photographer Ian Shive on Thursday, November 19th in the U.S. Capitol. Shive will share his stories of traversing the National Park System from the grizzlies of Yellowstone to the coral reefs of Biscayne, accompanied by his photographs and a new short multimedia film focusing on the challenges America’s most beloved landscapes face.

Ian is honored to share his passion for the parks with our countries leaders. For more information, contact ian@waterandsky.com

ianshive_capitol

2 responses to “Ian Shive to speak at the United States Capitol

  1. Find your photography, as presented on your website and in “Outdoor Photography” great. After rereading the magazine article several times, a nagging discomfort keeps erupting in my mind. I keep expecting to find suggestions for running Interstate Highways thru these wilderness areas so that those unable to trek these lands will be able to also share the pleasure of God’s Creations. Your wouldn’t even have to slow your speed below 70 mph to experience the beauty. Of course, a few rest areas would be provided for those who wish to “rough it” by spending a few minutes out of their journey to stop and view the scene, as well as relieve themselves.

    I don’t believe this is what you are promoting, but I fear some in places that could influence this may be prone to this direction.

    As I am well into my eigth decade, I know I cannot experience the places I did in my youth, there are many I have not visited. I do appreciate vicariously witnessing thru the lens of others these sites. This is as it should be.

    I especially envy you the life you have chosen, just hope the use of your images is not going to result in the eventual destruction of these icons.

    Bill

    • Hi Bill – thank you so much for the thoughtful note. I agree with you, your concerns are also my own. Most National Parks already have roads – though no highways – running through them but the amount of roads versus the amount of wilderness without roads is still very greatly disproportionate in favor of the wilderness and there are no plans to alter this. I do see the concern though of photographing places that are not well known – or known at all for that matter – and having them become a tourist trap mecca. As both a photographer and now an active advocate of wilderness in our legislature I hope to guide the processes with the support of people such as yourself to have much larger national parks and open swaths of land. In my mind, conservation is a lifestyle not an island of land with a border upon which people can develop and sprawl right up to the line unchecked. The old ways of making parks were a brilliant idea and the important stepping stone to a smarter future as a modern country which should now understand that our wild lands only work intact and not in small chunks of preservation.

Leave a Reply

